SEO.fr Agency > Definition – SEO terms > Definition of Google Shopping

Definition of Google Shopping

What is Google Shopping?

Google Shopping is Google’s price comparison service. It uses its product directory of listed e-boutiques. While the service is free of charge for end-users of the search engine, it is available on payment of a listing fee for any e-tailer wishing to give their products a chance of appearing first in the SERP comparator.

It allows users to view product images, prices and reviews, as well as get information on where to buy. It’s particularly useful for businesses that sell physical products, as it allows users to find the products they’re looking for quickly and efficiently, so it’s a great way to increase conversion!

How does it work?

Google Shopping is based on paid ads, also known as Shopping ads. Advertisers can create ad campaigns and display product images, descriptions and prices for specific products. Shopping ads appear in Google search results and on the Google Shopping page.

Shopping ads are based on bids, which means that advertisers bid on the keywords for which they wish to display their ads. Bids are determined on the basis of the relevance of the ad to the keyword searched for and the amount the advertiser is prepared to pay for each click on the ad.

What are the advantages of Google Shopping?

  • Increased visibility: ads appear at the top of search results, making them more visible to users.
  • Precise targeting: businesses can target ads based on search queries, location, user interests, etc.
  • Increased conversion rates: users who click on Google Shopping ads are already interested in the product and therefore more likely to buy it.
  • Detailed product information: ads include images, prices, reviews and shop information to help users make quick decisions.
  • Increase traffic and conversions: by enabling users to find the products they are looking for quickly and easily, businesses can increase their conversion rates and generate more sales.
  • Shopping ads allow you to accurately measure the success of your campaign, including ROI, clicks and impressions.

SEO training?
Sylvain is here for you

16 years’ expertise in digital marketing

Google Shopping, more than just an e-commerce space

Google Shopping has an ancestor: Google Product Search, which was created 16 years ago and was free at the time. Its cousin is Google AdWords or Google Ads. The basic concept for all three services is the purchase of keywords and a few specific features for priority positioning.

Technically, Google uses algorithms that position products on keywords linked to the titles and descriptions available in its inventory of product feeds, so that when web users type in a query for a given product, the offers that are most relevant to the keywords appear as products to compare in a highlighted space on the first SERP. But not all products offered for sale on the Web have the privilege of appearing here.

Firstly, out-of-stock products will be excluded. Secondly, the monetised service is reserved for paying sellers, who will be ranked according to criteria of relevance and payment amount. Given the scale of the competition, sellers will still need to implement a sophisticated marketing strategy to win a place in the coveted box. To do this, they need to have a Google Ads account that includes billing information, among other things.

Google Shopping is the service that drives traffic to the member retailer’s e-shop.

The ultimate aim of being positioned in the top rectangle of the Google SERP for a given query is, of course, to increase traffic to the virtual shop and, as a result, boost popularity and sales. By clicking on your product or on the Shopping tab in the header below the search bar, web users are sent to the page on your site that displays the product and introduces them to your shop and its offers.

They may end up being interested in your other products and are likely to convert if they are not already a customer. It’s an excellent way of prospecting. This paid referencing is all the more interesting because it is also promoted by mobile search, and we know that searches on mobile terminals are becoming increasingly important. Statistics show that more than ¾ of the clicks made on Google’s paid positioning network take place on the comparator. What’s more, Google Shopping offers the same targeting possibilities as Search campaigns.

You can launch your Shopping campaigns via Google Ads once you have set up your product feed in Google Merchant Center. The positioning of your ad will depend on your bid and that of other advertisers, as well as a quality score known only to Google.

Call on our SEA agency to set up your Shopping campaigns!

Would you like to work with our team?
We are ready to welcome you!

--> -->

Définition de Google Shopping

Agence SEO.fr > Définition – Les termes du référencement > Définition de Google Shopping

Qu’est-ce que Google Shopping ?

Google Shopping est le service comparateur de prix de Google. Il exploite son annuaire de produits des e-boutiques référencées. Si le service est gratuit pour les utilisateurs finaux du moteur de recherche, il est rendu moyennant le paiement du référencement de ses produits pour tout e-commerçant souhaitant donner une chance à ces derniers d’apparaître prioritairement dans le comparateur de la SERP.

Google Shopping, c’est un espace de comparaison des produits des e-marchands clients de Google

Google Shopping a un ancêtre : Google Product Search qui a été créé il y a 16 ans et alors gratuit. Son cousin est Google AdWords ou Google Ads. Le concept de base pour les trois services est l’achat de mots-clés et quelques spécificités pour un positionnement prioritaire.

Techniquement, Google met en œuvre des algorithmes qui positionnent les produits sur des mots-clés liés aux titres et descriptions disponibles dans son inventaire de flux produits et cela fait que lorsque l’internaute tape une requête concernant un produit donné, les offres les plus pertinentes vis-à-vis des mots-clés apparaissent comme des produits à comparer dans un espace mis en valeur sur la première SERP. Mais ce ne sont pas tous les produits mis en vente sur le Web qui bénéficient du privilège de pouvoir y apparaître.

Tout d’abord, les produits hors stock seront exclus. Ensuite, le service qui est monétisé est réservé aux vendeurs qui paient et qui seront classés suivant des critères de pertinence et de montant de paiement. Du fait de l’importance de la concurrence, il va quand même s’imposer pour le vendeur de mettre en place une stratégie marketing pointue pour gagner une place dans l’encadré tant convoité. Il lui faut pour cela disposer d’un compte Google Ads incluant entre autres les informations de facturation.

Google Shopping est le service qui fait augmenter le trafic vers l’e-magasin du commerçant adhérent

L’objectif final de se positionner dans le rectangle privilégié de la première SERP de Google sur une requête donnée est bien sûr d’augmenter le trafic vers le magasin virtuel et par conséquent, accroître la popularité et les ventes. En cliquant sur votre produit ou sur l’onglet Shopping du header sous la barre de recherche, l’internaute est envoyé vers la page de votre site qui affiche le produit et découvre votre magasin et ses offres.

Il peut accessoirement finir par s’intéresser à vos autres produits et est susceptible de conversion s’il n’est pas déjà un client. C’est un excellent moyen de prospection. Ce référencement payant est d’autant plus intéressant qu’il est également mis en avant par la recherche mobile et on sait que les recherches sur les terminaux mobiles prennent de plus en plus d’importance. Les statistiques disent que plus des ¾ des clics effectués sur le réseau de positionnement payant Google se passent sur le comparateur. En outre, Google Shopping offre les possibilités de ciblage identiques à celles sur les campagnes Search.

Vous pouvez lancer vos campagnes Shopping par le biais de Google Ads après avoir bien paramétré votre flux produit au sein de Google Merchant Center. Le positionnement de votre annonce dépendra de votre enchère et celle des autres annonceurs, ainsi que d’un score de qualité connu seul de Google.

En référençant votre flux produit au sein de Google Merchant Center,

Image par Free-Photos de https://pixabay.com

Vous souhaitez en apprendre plus ?

Rejoignez nos formations pour devenir un professionnel du SEO !

Nos formations
Vous souhaitez travailler avec cette équipe ? Nous sommes prêts !