SEO.fr Agency > Definition – SEO terms > What is Duplicate Content?

What is Duplicate Content?

Duplicate content refers to the content of a web page or website that is reproduced identically or almost identically on the Web. Duplicate content poses a problem for search engine optimization (SEO), as search engines track down and penalize pages or sites affected by duplicate content.

Duplicate content is the copying and pasting of content from different URLs.

This can be textual content alone in a paragraph, or textual content with other elements across an entire page. When such content is taken over for publication on another URL, with or without slight modification, it is considered duplicate content, and it is the search engine that makes this “judgement”. There are two types of duplicate content.

The first concerns duplicate pages within the same site, on different URLs, either due to the need to create a separate desktop and mobile version of a site, or due to a technical or webmaster error. In this case, the content is perfectly identical. This often happens with e-boutiques and their product sheets. The second is duplicate pages on different sites.

It may be the result of a redistribution of RSS feeds, or an almost identical description of a similar product, or simply plagiarism. It’s a phenomenon that website owners really fear. Sometimes, however, it is intentional, because it is necessary, to allow duplicate content to persist, in which case all you have to do is indicate the source content to the Google robot using the rel=canonical tag, and the page considered to be the original will be indexed.

Duplicate content is detrimental to a page’s search engine ranking

The first thing to remember is that, except in the most severe cases, duplicate content does not prevent the Google search engine from indexing the pages concerned. Google simply tries not to outrank a site by taking the same content into account several times.

What happens to pages classified as duplicate content is that they lose positions in the SERPs and are even removed from the search results. An original page may also be relegated to the background in favor of the content thief when the latter’s PageRank is higher. Apart from the 2 types of duplicate content, there are 3 other cases.

The first refers to strictly identical pages. Here, only the page with the highest PageRank will be indexed.

The second relates to similar pages, but differentiated by their Title and Description tags. Here, all the pages will be indexed, but those that are not considered to be the original will not appear in the SERPs until you click on “relaunch the search including the ignored pages”.

SEO training?
Sylvain is here for you

16 years’ expertise in digital marketing

How do you detect duplicate content?

There are several tools you can use to detect duplicate content on your website. The simplest is to use Google’s search tool. You can type a phrase of your content into the Google search bar and see if the same results appear on several pages of your website. You can also use tools such as Copyscape, which allows you to search for duplicate content on your website.

How can I avoid duplicate content?

The best way to avoid duplicate content is to create unique and original content for each page of your website. Make sure you don’t copy and paste content from one page to another, and create unique titles and descriptions for each page. If you need to use the same content on several pages, make sure you rewrite it using keyword variations.

Would you like to work with our team?
We are ready to welcome you!

--> -->

Définition du Duplicate Content

Agence SEO.fr > Définition – Les termes du référencement > Définition du Duplicate Content

Qu’est-ce que le Duplicate Content ?

Le Duplicate content qui veut dire en français « contenu dupliqué » évoque le contenu d’une page web ou d’un site internet qui est reproduit à l’identique ou presque sur le Web. C’est un phénomène qui pose problème en matière de référencement car les moteurs de recherche traquent et sanctionnent les pages ou sites concernés par le duplicate content.

Le duplicate content s’assimile à du copié-collé de contenus sur des URLs différents

Cela peut être un contenu textuel seul sur un paragraphe ou un contenu textuel avec d’autres éléments sur toute une page. Lorsqu’un tel contenu est repris pour être publié sur une autre URL, sans ou avec une légère modification, il est considéré comme du duplicate content et c’est le moteur de recherche qui fait ce « jugement ». Il existe deux types de contenu dupliqué.

Le premier concerne les pages dupliquées à l’intérieur d’un même site, sur des URLs différentes donc, dues soit à la nécessite de faire séparément une version desktop et une version mobile d’un site, soit à cause d’une erreur technique ou du webmaster. Là, les contenus sont parfaitement identiques. Cela arrive souvent sur les e-boutiques avec leurs fiches produits. Le second concerne les pages dupliquées sur des sites différents.

Il peut être le fruit d’une redistribution de flux RSS ou celui d’une description quasi identique d’un produit similaire ou tout simplement le fait d’un plagiat. C’est un phénomène très craint des propriétaires de sites web. Il arrive toutefois qu’il soit intentionnel, parce que nécessaire, de laisser les contenus dupliqués persister, dans lequel cas il suffit d’indiquer le contenu source au robot de Google par la l’utilisation de la balise rel=canonical et c’est la page considérée comme originale qui sera indexée.

Le Duplicate content est gênant pour le référencement d’une page sur un moteur de recherche

Il faut d’abord savoir que sauf dans les plus sévères des cas, le phénomène de contenu dupliqué n’empêche pas le moteur de recherche Google d’indexer les pages concernées. Google essaie juste de ne pas surclasser un site en prenant en compte le même contenu plusieurs fois.

Ce qui arrive aux pages classées en duplicate content, c’est de perdre des positions dans les SERP, voire d’être retirées des résultats de recherche. Il arrive aussi quand même à une page originale d’être reléguée au second plan au profit du voleur de contenu quand le PageRank de ce dernier est plus fort. A part les 2 types de duplicate content, il y a 3 cas.

Le premier se rapporte aux pages strictement identiques. Là, seule celle qui a le plus fort PageRank sera indexée.

Le deuxième se rapporte aux pages similaires mais différenciées par leurs balises Title et Description. Là, toutes les pages seront indexées mais celles qui ne sont pas considérées comme l’originale n’apparaîtront aux SERP qu’en cliquant sur « relancer la recherche en incluant les pages ignorées ».

Le troisième concerne les balises Title et Description identiques pour des pages différentes. Là, Google peut aller jusqu’à ne pas indexer les pages considérées dupliquées. Les règles à retenir, c’est : une page = une URL distincte et en cas de contenu dupliqué volontairement, mettre l’URL de la page originale dans la balise canonical.

Image par Free-Photos de https://pixabay.com

Vous souhaitez en apprendre plus ?

Rejoignez nos formations pour devenir un professionnel du SEO !

Nos formations
Vous souhaitez travailler avec cette équipe ? Nous sommes prêts !