SEO.fr Agency > Definition – SEO terms > Google Panda definition

Google Panda definition

Officially deployed for the first time on February 24, 2011, Google Panda is a filter in the eponymous search engine designed to expel from its results pages with content considered duplicated, insufficient or of poor quality.
Previously updated monthly, this filter is now an integral part of the algorithm. Updates and resulting sanctions are now carried out in real time.

Filter history

Designed to penalize poor-quality content, Panda was not immediately deployed worldwide. It is first being tested in the United States:

  • February 24, 2011: the “Farmer Update”, aka Panda 1.0, disrupts SERPs across the Atlantic
  • April 11, 2011: Panda 2.0 now affects all English-language results without exception
  • August 11, 2011: Europe, the United States, the whole world is affected by a new version of this filter. Depending on the source, it is sometimes called Panda 2.4, sometimes Panda 3.0. In France, the impact on results is significant
  • March 2013: after several updates, the “Panda Everflux” filter is now integrated into the algorithm in real time. This means that updates are made continuously, as are penalties applied to sites that fail to comply with Google’s editorial content and SEO guidelines.

The hunt for duplicate or low-value content

The clearly stated aim of Google Panda is to penalize and combat what are known as content farms, sites that publish a large amount of content of mediocre quality and no coherence with one another, with the sole aim of generating visibility and an audience.

This applies in particular to duplicate content. This can take different forms:

  • Duplicated internal content: this is a description or article that appears on several pages of the same site.
  • External duplicate content: this is a copy-paste from another site, often without the latter’s permission. In this case, Google prioritizes the canonical url, that of the original content, rather than the one that has been “scraped”.
  • Content generated automatically through content spinning. This involves replacing terms or groups of words with synonyms to produce large quantities of relatively similar text
  • Spam comments on a blog are also considered duplicate content, since they are the same text published automatically by bots on hundreds or thousands of sites. A captcha (Completely Automated Public Turing test to Tell Computers and Humans Apart) or a hidden empty field is an effective anti-spam solution.

Got an SEO question?
Géraldine can help

5 years of SEO expertise

Google Panda: what are the penalties?

Of course, the Google Panda filter is not simply designed to identify low-quality content or duplicate content. Its main function is to penalize all sites that fail to comply with Google’s SEO guidelines, notably by downgrading them in its results or blacklisting them. In the latter case, the offending site disappears completely and may never be re-indexed by the search engine.

While the first Google Panda penalties systematically resulted in the outright disappearance of the site deemed to be of poor quality by the Mountain View giant, today’s sanctions are more gradual and proportionate. They can take the form of the removal of certain pages from the results, or even the removal of the site in its entirety.

So how do you know if your pages contain duplicate content and if you’re risking a total loss of visibility? First of all, by respecting the guidelines of the number 1 search engine and requesting an audit from our SEO agency, experts in Google penalties.

How can you improve your Google Panda ranking?

To improve your Google Panda ranking, you need to focus on creating high-quality, relevant content. Make sure your content is well structured and easy to read. Use relevant keywords in your content, but don’t overload them. Avoid duplicate and low-quality content. Finally, make sure your website is technically optimized for search engines.

Panda is an important algorithm used by Google to evaluate the quality of content and rank it accordingly. To improve your search engine rankings, you need to focus on creating high-quality content that is relevant to users. Avoid duplicate content, generic content and low-quality content. Finally, make sure your website is technically optimized for search engines.

Would you like to work with our team?
We are ready to welcome you!

--> -->

Définition Google Panda

Déployé officiellement pour la première fois le 24 février 2011, Google Panda est un filtre du moteur de recherche éponyme visant à expurger de ses résultats les pages au contenu considéré comme dupliqué, insuffisant ou de piètre qualité.
Auparavant mis à jour mensuellement, ce filtre fait aujourd’hui partie intégrante à l’algorithme. Mises à jour et sanctions en découlant se font désormais en temps réel.

Historique du filtre

Destiné à sanctionner le contenu de mauvaise qualité, Panda n’est pas immédiatement déployé à l’échelon mondial. Il est tout d’abord testé aux Etats-Unis :

  • 24 février 2011 : la mise à jour « Farmer Update », alias Panda 1.0, bouleverse les SERPS outre-Atlantique
  • 11 avril 2011 : Panda 2.0 concerne désormais tous les résultats anglophones sans exception
  • 11 août 2011 : Europe, Etats-Unis, le monde entier est concerné par une nouvelle mouture de ce filtre. Selon les sources, elle porte tantôt le nom de Panda 2.4, tantôt celui de Panda 3.0. En France, l’impact sur les résultats est conséquent
  • mars 2013 : après plusieurs mises à jour, le filtre « Panda Everflux » est désormais intégré en temps réel à l’algorithme. Cela implique que les mises à jour se font en continu, tout comme les pénalités appliquées aux sites ne respectant pas les directives Google en matière de contenu éditorial et de SEO

La chasse au contenu dupliqué ou de faible valeur

Le but clairement affiché de Google Panda est de sanctionner et de lutter contre ce que l’on nomme les fermes de contenus, ces sites publiant de nombreux contenus de qualité médiocre et sans cohérence les uns avec les autres dans le seul but de générer de la visibilité et de l’audience.

Cela concerne en particulier le contenu dupliqué ou duplicate content en anglais. Celui-ci peut prendre différentes formes :

  • le contenu dupliqué interne : il s’agit d’une description ou d’un article présent sur plusieurs pages d’un même site
  • le contenu dupliqué externe : cette fois, il s’agit d’un copier-coller en provenance d’un autre site, bien souvent sans son accord. Dans ce cas, Google priorise l’url canonique, c’est-à-dire celle du contenu original, et non celle ayant été « pillée » (scraping)
  • le contenu généré de manière automatique grâce au content spinning. Cette dernière consiste à remplacer des termes ou groupes de mots par des synonymes pour produire de grandes quantités de textes relativement proches
  • les commentaires spam sur un blog sont également considérés comme du contenu dupliqué puisqu’il s’agit d’un même texte publié automatiquement par des bots sur des centaines ou des milliers de sites. Un captcha (Completely Automated Public Turing test to Tell Computers and Humans Apart) ou un champ vide caché est une solution anti-spam efficace

Google Panda : quelles sanctions ?

Bien évidemment, le filtre Panda n’a pas pour simple fonction de repérer le contenu de faible qualité ou le duplicate content. Il a surtout pour fonction de pénaliser tous les sites ne respectant pas les directives Google en matière de SEO, notamment en les déclassant dans ses résultats ou en les blacklistant. Dans ce dernier cas, le site incriminé disparaît totalement et peut ne jamais être ré-indexé par le moteur de recherche.

Si les premières pénalités Google Panda se traduisaient systématiquement par une disparition pure et simple du site considéré comme étant de mauvaise qualité par le géant de Mountain View, aujourd’hui, les sanctions sont plus graduelles et proportionnées. Elles peuvent ainsi prendre la forme d’une disparition de certaines pages des résultats, jusqu’à celle du site dans sa totalité.

Alors, comment savoir si vos pages contiennent du contenu dupliqué et si vous risquez une perte totale de visibilité ? Tout d’abord en respectant les consignes du numéro 1 du search et en demandant un audit à notre agence experte en pénalité Google.

Vous souhaitez travailler avec cette équipe ? Nous sommes prêts !

Parlez-nous de votre projet