SEO.fr Agency > Definition – SEO terms > Definition of Black Hat SEO

Definition of Black Hat SEO

In the SEO sphere, we tend to differentiate between two types of SEO / SEO techniques. White-Hat SEO and Black-Haat SEO. Doctor Jekyll and Mr Hyde. One would be good, in line with Google’s recommendations (in particular), the other would be bad and risky, because it would play on the weaknesses of search engine algorithms.

White, grey or black hat seo: what is it?

White, grey and black hat seo are three completely different ways of approaching the natural referencing of a site. Why does black hat seo offer much faster results and why is it dangerous for your site?

Definition of white hat seo

White-hat SEO is a set of natural referencing and optimization practices that respect the official recommendations of Google, the leader in internet search. The main aims of these practices are to :

  • Improve the site’s technical performance, for example by having a consistent page architecture or reducing loading times on mobile devices
  • Enhancing the user experience
  • Improve the quality of editorial content

White-hat SEO is therefore a set of processes considered to be ‘ethical’ by search engines. In particular, they are in line with Google’s constant drive to improve the relevance and quality of the results it offers. It is therefore a long-term visibility strategy. It may take a little time to produce results, but they are sustainable.

Definition of black hat seo

Black-hat SEO is a set of processes and automated methods designed to exploit the flaws in algorithms to manipulate results in your favor. The results can be surprising. Sites that engage in such practices can find themselves on the first page of Google, or even in first place, overnight.

With results like these, it’s obviously tempting. But any loophole is bound to be filled, as Google is constantly updating its algorithm to varying degrees. When the flaw is corrected, which is never very long, all those who have used it to artificially climb the SERPs are then unmasked by Google and punished. Depending on the extent of the dubious practices used, this ranges from downgrading to the total disappearance of the site.

Definition of grey hat seo

Grey hat SEO uses a number of techniques to try to improve a site’s SEO while respecting a certain ethic and quality. In particular, they try not to exceed the dangerous limits set by Google, such as using exact anchors in their backlinks or duplicating content.

If we stick to Google’s guidelines, any action aimed at optimizing search engine optimization, apart from the technical optimization of the site and the creation of original content, can be likened to Black-Hat SEO, because its purpose is to influence the algorithm. From then on, the slightest sponsored article or directory listing created would be enough to put a site in the category of those using Black-Hat SEO practices.

Fortunately, in practice Google is much more flexible on this issue, which is not the case for its employees, whose job it is to manually analyze sites that might be based on dubious practices.

Got an SEO question?
Sami can help

8 years of SEO expertise

Black hat seo: what are the risks for your site?

Since 2011 and the deployment of filters such as Penguin and then Panda, Google has made it clear that it wants to purge all low-quality sites from its results. This includes those that try to manipulate its algorithm through automatic or fraudulent SEO practices.

Examples of practices prohibited by Google

Black-hat SEO techniques are all banned by search engines. Some in particular have been penalized in recent years:

  • Cloacking, which consists of using scripts to display different content depending on whether the visitor is a robot or a human. The indexed page is therefore different from the page viewed by Internet users.
  • Hiding text and keywords on pages: the editorial content of each page enables search engines to understand its theme. The richness of the lexical field used then makes it possible to appear on the most important expressions. It can therefore be tempting to add a long list of keywords to be sure of being well positioned, while hiding them behind an image or using a font color identical to that of the background.
  • Keyword stuffing”, which consists of the abusive accumulation of keywords in a text or in Hn tags.
  • Duplicating the content of other sites by simply copying and pasting a competitor’s text and displaying it on your own site
  • Using a bot to automatically generate links on a massive scale when commenting on articles or blogs
  • Mass generation of external links pointing to the same site

Google’s algorithm was originally based on the number of external links pointing to the same site. In the early days, the engine considered that the more links you had, the more of a reference you were in your field. Logically, you should therefore appear in the top search results.

Link building is a common practice and an integral part of any good natural referencing strategy. However, its abuse, which consists of massively generating hundreds or thousands of links to improve your ranking in the results, is punished by Google. This is perfectly normal, since these poor-quality, artificial links (directories, link or domain purchases, etc.) have only one aim: to manipulate Google’s algorithm.

In 2013, Interflora suddenly disappeared from the results following a Google penalty. The cause was the company’s massive purchase of low-quality inbound links. Interflora then had no choice but to carry out a massive disavowal of all the artificially acquired links.

What are the Google penalties?

Using black-hat techniques or techniques prohibited by Google is always very risky. Many well-known companies and brands have learned this the hard way. BMW, Ricoh and Interflora are among the very long list of companies that have temporarily or completely disappeared from the web giant’s results.

There are two main types of Google penalty:

  • Loss of positioning: the site moves back several pages. Demotion leads to a total loss of visibility
  • Blacklisting: this is the most severe penalty, as it involves the removal of the offending site from the results. A Google penalty that is sometimes never lifted. For a company, this can mean considerable economic damage.

Is automation synonymous with dangerous practices?

Black-Hat SEO is often associated with automation, while White-Hat SEO is presented as a technique that is not, implying that automation is necessarily bad for SEO.

In fact, a good SEO who respects the guidelines imposed by Google can automate certain tedious or repetitive tasks. This is the case, for example, for automatic redirections, 404 error detection, internal linking or the integration of visitor requests into a section of the page – essential tasks that can be automated without risking infringing Google guidelines.

It is understood that BlackHat techniques present risks for the medium- and long-term visibility of your site, and today very few companies will offer you this type of service.
Our seo agency, for example, only offers WhiteHat services in correlation with the Google guides.

Would you like to work with our team?
We are ready to welcome you!

--> -->

Définition du Black Hat SEO

Dans la sphère du SEO, on a tendance à différencier deux types de référenceurs / techniques de référencement. Le SEO White Hat et le SEO Black Hat. Docteur Jekyll et Mister Hyde. L’un serait bon, en accord avec les recommandations de Google (notamment), l’autre serait mauvais et risqué car il se jouerait des faiblesses des algorithmes des moteurs de recherches.

White, grey ou black hat seo : qu'est-ce que c'est ?

White, grey et black hat seo sont trois façons totalement différentes d’aborder le référencement naturel d’un site. Pourquoi le black hat seo offre-t-il des résultats nettement plus rapides et en quoi présente-t-il un danger pour votre site ?

Définition du white hat seo

Le white hat seo est un ensemble de pratiques de référencement naturel et d’optimisations respectueuses des recommandations officielles de Google, le leader de la recherche sur internet. Ces dernières visent notamment à :

  • améliorer les performances techniques du site, par exemple en ayant une architecture de page cohérente ou en réduisant le temps de chargement sur mobile
  • renforcer l’expérience utilisateur
  • travailler la qualité du contenu éditorial

Le white hat seo est donc un ensemble de procédés considérés comme « éthiques » par les moteurs de recherche. Ceux-ci vont notamment dans le sens de Google qui cherche sans cesse à renforcer la pertinence et la qualité des résultats qu’il propose. Il s’agit donc bien d’une stratégie de visibilité s’inscrivant dans le long terme. Si elle nécessite un peu de temps avant d’offrir des résultats, ceux-ci sont en revanche pérennes.

Définition du black hat seo

Le black hat seo est un ensemble de procédés et d’automatisations visant à exploiter les failles des algorithmes pour manipuler les résultats en sa faveur. Les résultats peuvent donc être surprenants. Les sites s’adonnant à de telles pratiques peuvent se retrouver du jour au lendemain en première page Google, voire en première position.

Avec de tels résultats, c’est évidemment tentant. Mais toute faille a immanquablement vocation à être comblée, Google procédant en permanence à des mises à jour plus ou moins importantes de son algorithme. Quand la faille est corrigée, ce qui n’est jamais très long, tous ceux qui s’en sont servis pour grimper artificiellement dans les SERPS sont alors démasqués par Google et sanctionnés. Selon l’importance des pratiques douteuses utilisées, cela va du déclassement à la disparition totale du site.

Définition du grey hat seo

Le Grey Hat SEO utilise, lui, de nombreuses techniques pour tenter d’améliorer le référencement d’un site tout en respectant une certaine éthique et une certaine qualité. Il s’emploie notamment à ne pas dépasser les limites dangereuses fixées par Google comme par exemple l’utilisation d’ancres exactes dans ses backlinks ou la duplication de contenu.

Si l’on s’en tient aux guidelines de Google, toute action visant à optimiser son référencement, outre l’optimisation technique de son site et la création de contenu original, est assimilable à du SEO Black Hat car elle a alors pour vocation à influer sur l’algorithme. Dès lors, le moindre article sponsorisé ou la moindre fiche d’annuaire créée suffirait à faire rentrer un site dans la catégorie de ceux utilisant des pratiques de SEO Black Hat.

Heureusement, en pratique Google est beaucoup plus flexible sur ce sujet, ce qui n’est pas le cas de ses employés qui ont pour mission d’analyser manuellement les sites qui pourraient s’appuyer sur des pratiques douteuses.

Black hat seo : quels sont les risques pour votre site ?

Depuis 2011 et le déploiement de filtres tels que Pingouin puis Panda, Google affiche clairement sa volonté d’expurger de ses résultats tous les sites de mauvaise qualité. Cela inclut ceux qui tentent de manipuler son algorithme par le biais des pratiques seo automatiques ou frauduleuses.

Exemples de pratiques proscrites par Google

Les techniques du black hat seo sont toutes proscrites par les moteurs de recherche. Certaines ont tout particulièrement été sanctionnées ces dernières années :

  • le cloacking qui consiste en l’utilisation de scripts pour afficher un contenu différent, suivant que le visiteur soit un robot ou un humain. La page indexée est donc différente de la page vue par les internautes
  • la dissimulation de texte et de mots-clefs dans ses pages : le contenu éditorial de chaque page permet aux moteurs de recherche de comprendre leur thématique. La richesse du champ lexical utilisé permet ensuite d’apparaître sur les expressions les importantes. Il peut donc être tentant d’ajouter une longue liste de mots-clefs pour être certain d’être bien positionné, tout en les cachant derrière une image ou en utilisant une couleur de police identique à celle du fond
  • le « keyword stuffing » (littéralement, du bourrage de mots) qui consiste en l’accumulation abusive de mots-clefs dans un texte ou dans les balises Hn
  • la duplication de contenus d’autres sites en faisant un simple copier-coller du texte d’un concurrent pour l’afficher sur le sien
  • l’utilisation de bot pour générer massivement et automatiquement des liens en commentaire d’articles ou de blog
  • la génération massive de liens externes pointant vers un même site

Le cas particulier de la génération massive de liens externes

L’algorithme de Google s’appuie à l’origine sur le nombre de liens externes pointant vers un même site. A ses débuts, le moteur considère que plus vous avez de liens, plus vous êtes une référence dans votre domaine. En toute logique, vous devez donc figurer dans les meilleurs résultats de recherche.

Le netlinking est une pratique courante faisant partie intégrante de toute bonne stratégie de référencement naturel. En revanche, son abus qui consiste à générer massivement des centaines ou des milliers de liens pour améliorer son positionnement dans les résultats sont sanctionnés par Google. Rien de plus normal en soi puisque ces liens de piètre qualité et artificiels (annuaires, achats de liens ou de domaines, etc) n’ont qu’un seul but, manipuler son algorithme.

En 2013, Interflora disparaît brusquement des résultats, suite à une pénalité Google. En cause, l’achat massif par l’enseigne de liens entrants de mauvaise qualité. Interflora n’a alors d’autres choix que de procéder à un désaveu massif de tous les liens acquis artificiellement.

Quelles sont les pénalités Google ?

L’utilisation de techniques black hat ou prohibées par Google est toujours très risquée. De nombreuses entreprises et marques renommées l’ont d’ailleurs appris à leurs dépends. BMW, Ricoh ou encore Interflora figurent sur la très longue liste des structures qui ont momentanément ou totalement disparu des résultats du géant du web.

En effet, les sanctions Google sont essentiellement de deux natures :

  • perte de positionnement : le site recule de plusieurs pages. La rétrogradation entraîne une perte totale de visibilité
  • le blacklistage : c’est la sanction la plus sévère puisqu’il s’agit ni plus ni moins de la suppression du site incriminé des résultats. Une pénalité Google qui n’est parfois jamais levée. Pour une entreprise, cela peut signifier une fragilisation économique considérable

L'automatisation est-elle synonyme de pratiques dangereuses ?

Le Black Hat SEO est souvent associé à l’automatisation tandis que le White Hat SEO est présenté comme une technique qui ne l’est pas, laissant sous-entendre que l’automatisation est forcément mauvaise pour le référencement.

Dans les faits, un bon référenceur respectueux des directives imposées par Google peut tout à fait automatiser certaines tâches fastidieuses ou répétitives. C’est par exemple le cas pour les redirections automatiques, les détections d’erreurs 404, le maillage interne ou les intégrations des requêtes internautes dans une section de sa page, des tâches essentielles qui peuvent tout à fait être automatisées sans risquer d’enfreindre les guidelines Google.

Il est entendu que les techniques BlackHat présente des risques pour la visibilité à moyen et long terme de votre site, et aujourd’hui très peu d’entreprises vous proposeront ce type de services.
SEO.fr n’offre par exemple que des prestations WhiteHat en corrélation avec les guides de Google.

Vous souhaitez travailler avec cette équipe ? Nous sommes prêts !

Parlez-nous de votre projet