SEO.fr Agency > Definition – SEO terms > Definition of Google AMP

Definition of Google AMP

What is Google AMP?

AMP, which stands for Accelerated Mobile Pages, is an online publication format created by Google to speed up the display of pages on mobile devices.

Improving the user experience on Google is the ultimate goal of this project, which was launched in 2016 and now enriches results pages more than the traditional format does.

Google AMP’s effectiveness is based on a number of technical optimizations

With AMP-optimised pages, a website can be explored much more quickly by Internet users who click on the pages corresponding to the results of their queries on Google. In order to generate the increase in page display speed from an average of 22 seconds for a non-AMP page to 0.7 seconds for an AMP page, Google has put in place a multitude of rules and restrictions and implemented a number of optimizations.

The AMP page bypasses JavaScript elements without going so far as to exclude them, thereby preventing any deterioration in performance. To reduce the loading of multimedia resources, the HTML codes of the pages include indications of the size and layout of these resources. An AMP-optimised page continues to load independently of the loading of external content permitted by iframe tags.

CSS styles are standardized, and only inline styles are authorized. Only GPU-accelerated animations and transitions are loaded. Images and adverts are only downloaded if the user pretends to want to access them. A prediction mode is activated to suggest in advance pages likely to be of interest to the user. It should be noted that AMP is not a positioning factor for a site, but facilitates navigation.

SEO training?
Sylvain is here for you

16 years’ expertise in digital marketing

AMP also means enriched pages that can be accessed via the Google AMP Cache URL

AMP does more than speed up the availability of pages on smartphones and tablets. It highlights pages more than the traditional format does. It enriches them with new elements.

By including structured data, an AMP page can offer a top carousel of stories on search results pages, including videos, blog articles and forum threads, for example. AMP can enrich the presentation of a page with similar results that will provide web users with a choice of content with the same structure. It is also possible to display images, styles and other functionalities in the results. Site owners will find it particularly interesting that their page can be presented by Google AMP with visual stories readable by iOS and Android.

In order to make the most of these rich features quickly, web users need to access the AMP URL.

For a classic URL like https://example.com/amp_document.html, it is in the following AMP format: https://example.com.cdn.ampproject.org/c/s/example.com/amp_document.html.

This format supports Google Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera, Bord and Navigate UR UC in their various versions for mobile and desktop use. If you find the little AMP logo on a search result, you’ll know that the corresponding page is AMP-compatible.

Would you like to work with our team?
We are ready to welcome you!

--> -->

Définition de Google AMP

Qu’est-ce que l’AMP de Google ?

AMP qui est l’abréviation de Accelerated Mobile Pages est un format de publication en ligne créé par Google afin d’accélérer l’affichage des pages sur les terminaux mobiles.

L’amélioration de l’expérience utilisateur sur Google est l’objectif final de ce projet qui a vu le jour en 2016 et qui aujourd’hui enrichit les pages de résultats plus que ne le fait le format classique.

L’AMP de Google fonde son efficacité sur une pluralité d’optimisations techniques

Avec des pages optimisées AMP, un site web peut être exploré beaucoup plus rapidement par les internautes qui cliquent sur les pages correspondant aux résultats de leurs requêtes sur Google. Afin de générer l’accroissement de la vitesse d’affichage des pages qui va de 22 secondes en moyenne pour une page non AMP à 0,7 seconde pour une page AMP, Google a mis en place une multitude de règles et de restrictions et mis en œuvre plusieurs optimisations.

La page AMP contourne les éléments JavaScript sans aller jusqu’à les exclure et empêche ainsi la détérioration de sa performance. Pour alléger le chargement des ressources multimédia, les codes HTML des pages incluent des indications sur la taille et la disposition de ces ressources. Une page optimisée AMP poursuit son chargement indépendamment du chargement des contenus externes permis par les balises iframe.

Les styles CSS sont uniformisés et seuls ceux en ligne sont autorisés. Seules les animations et transitions accélérées par le GPU sont chargées. Les images et publicités ne sont téléchargées que si le mobinaute fait mine de vouloir y accéder. Un mode de prédiction est activé pour proposer à l’avance des pages susceptibles d’intéresser l’internaute. A noter que l’AMP n’est pas un facteur de positionnement pour un site mais facilite sa navigation.

L’AMP, c’est aussi des pages enrichies qui s’accèdent via l’URL de Google AMP Cache

L’AMP fait plus qu’accélérer le disponibilité des pages sur les smartphones et tablettes. Il met les pages en avant plus que le format traditionnel ne le fait. Il les enrichit de nouveaux éléments.

En incluant les données structurées, une page AMP peut proposer sur les pages de résultats de recherche un top carrousel d’histoires qui inclut par exemples des vidéos, des articles de blogs ou encore des fils de discussions sur des forums. L’AMP peut enrichir la présentation d’une page de résultats similaires qui vont constituer pour l’internaute des choix de contenus ayant la même structure. Il lui est possible aussi d’afficher des images, des styles et d’autres fonctionnalités dans les résultats. Le propriétaire d’un site trouvera particulièrement intéressant le fait que sa page peut être présentée par Google AMP avec des histoires visuelles lisibles par iOs et Android.

Afin d’exploiter ces richesses avec une rapidité certaine, il faut à l’internaute accéder à l’URL AMP.

Pour une URL classique du genre https://example.com/amp_document.html, elle est dans la présentation AMP suivante : https://example.com.cdn.ampproject.org/c/s/example.com/amp_document.html.

Ce format prend en charge Google Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opéra, Bord et Navigate UR UC dans leurs différentes versions pour des utilisation mobile et bureau. En trouvant le petit logo AMP sur un résultat de recherche, vous saurez que la page correspondante est compatible AMP.

Image par Free-Photos de https://pixabay.com

Vous souhaitez en apprendre plus ?

Rejoignez nos formations pour devenir un professionnel du SEO !

Nos formations
Vous souhaitez travailler avec cette équipe ? Nous sommes prêts !