SEO.fr Agency > Definition – SEO terms > Definition of Google Tag Manager

Definition of Google Tag Manager

What is Google Tag Manager?

Google Tag Manager or GMT stands for Google Tag Manager. As its name explains, it is a system whose role is to manage your tags, your underlying tags, which is necessary when you have an e-commerce site that becomes so large that implementing tags in its HTML code is an extremely tedious operation.

Why use Google Tag Manager?

Ease of use: Google Tag Manager lets you manage all tracking tags (such as Google Analytics , Facebook Pixel, etc.) from a single interface, making the process easier and more efficient.

Speed of execution: no need to modify the source code to add or update tags, you can do it directly from Google Tag Manager. This saves you time and makes you more responsive.

Flexibility: Google Tag Manager lets you create custom triggers and variables for more precise tag management. This allows you to track only the information that is relevant to your business.

Reliability: By using Google Tag Manager, you can guarantee reliable and consistent implementation of tags on your site. This avoids common implementation errors that can lead to incomplete or inaccurate data.

How do I integrate Google Tag Manager with Google Analytics?

Add GA to GTM

There are several reasons why users choose to use GTM. Firstly, it allows users to easily manage the tags on their website without the need for a developer. It can also help speed up the process of configuring new tags and reduce potential errors during configuration. In addition, GTM allows users to easily track the performance of tags on their website, helping to increase conversions and revenue.

Creating a GA tag in GTM

After creating your GA account, you need to add GA to GTM. This can be done by clicking on “Add a data source” in the GTM left-hand menu. You will then be asked to select GA as your data source, enter the GA tracking ID and configure the GA settings.

SEO training?
Sylvain is here for you

16 years’ expertise in digital marketing

How does GTM centralize beacons?

Implementing tags on the pages of your e-commerce site in order to track data derived from the behavior of web users can be tedious when you’re dealing with a large site. Google’s tag manager was created to solve this problem, enabling webmasters to carry out a minimum number of movements when they want to modify or implement bits of code, without having to touch the page’s source code.

All you need to do for a given tag is implement it once. To make this possible, GTM relies on tags, macros and the rules that link the first two. A rule can group together a certain number of conditions and can concern, for example, the blocking of a tag for certain pages or on the occasion of a specific event. The JavaScript tags in question that are created for marketing purposes are grouped together in what is called a “container” so that they can be handled centrally instead of on each of the pages that concern them. You can create several containers.

In the past, you would have had to call in a developer to create the plurality of tags that would enable you to collect the various pieces of information on customer behavior and feed them back into a web analytics tool, but now there’s Google Tag Manager to take care of it.

Google Tag Manager makes it easier to carry out marketing operations via the website

Above all, the operator of a commercial website wants to be able to obtain data that will enable them to measure the behavior of their web-user customers so that they can better direct their marketing efforts.

Knowing the number of clicks on a CTA, the number of clicks on each product presented and on the corresponding to add to basket, basket abandonment, AdWords conversions, the best-selling products and the corresponding turnover, newsletter subscriptions, the depth of movements on a page and statistics on shared videos is vital for any marketing decision-maker and justifies the creation and management of special tags. Google’s tag manager ensures this management.

Your task will be to create custom HTML tags from the predefined tags provided, and to add special GTM tags such as Universal Analytics, DoubleClick Floodlight Sales, Google Surveys Website Satisfaction, Conversion Linker, Google Optimize and DoubleClick Floodlight Counter. These tags will be chosen according to the information you wish to collect. The tags mentioned here, for example, can be used to obtain data such as Google Analytics, AdWords Remarketing, AdWords Conversion Tracking and Facebook Pixels. During an AdWords advertising campaign, you’ll be able to find out exactly which products are converting consumers.

Would you like to work with our team?
We are ready to welcome you!

--> -->

Suite au coronavirus, nous sommes disponibles et organisés en télétravail, conformément aux directives du gouvernement.

 

Définition de Google Tag Manager

Agence SEO.fr > Définition – Les termes du référencement > Définition de Google Tag Manager

Qu’est-ce que Google Tag Manager ?

Google Tag Manager ou GMT veut dire gestionnaire de balises de Google. Comme son nom l’explique, il est un système qui a pour rôle de gérer vos tags, vos balises sous-jacents, ce qui est nécessaire quand on a un site e-commerce qui devient si volumineux que les implémentations de balises sur son code HTML est une opération extrêmement fastidieuse.

GTM centralise les balises pour que leur gestion puisse se faire en peu de mouvements

Implémenter des balises sur les pages de son site e-commerce afin de tracker des données issues des comportements des internautes s’avère fastidieux lorsque l’on a à faire à un gros site. C’est pour solutionner ce problème que le gestionnaire de tags de Google a été créé, pour permettre au webmaster d’exécuter un nombre minimum de mouvements lorsqu’il veut modifier ou implémenter des bouts de code et ce, sans avoir à toucher au code source de la page.

Pour un tag donné, il suffit de l’implémenter une unique fois donc. Pour rendre cela possible, GTM s’appuie sur des balises, des macros et les règles qui lient ces deux premiers. Une règle peut regrouper un certain nombre de conditions et peut concerner par exemple le blocage d’une balise pour certaines pages ou à l’occasion d’un événement précis. Les tags JavaScript en question qui sont créés à des fins marketing sont regroupés dans ce qui est appelé « conteneur » pour pouvoir être manipulés de manière centralisée au lieu de l’être sur chacune des pages qui les concernent. Vous pouvez créer plusieurs conteneurs.

Si avant, il vous aurait fallu faire appel à un développeur pour créer la pluralité de tags qui va vous permettre de collecter les différentes informations sur le comportement client et les faire remonter dans un outil web analytics, maintenant, il y a Google Tag Manager pour s’en occuper.

Google BERT

Google Tag Manager facilite les opérations marketing à accomplir via le site web

Ce que l’exploitant d’un site web commercial souhaite pouvoir obtenir surtout, ce sont des données permettant de mesurer le comportement de ses clients internautes afin de mieux orienter les efforts marketing à entreprendre.

Connaître le nombre de clics sur un CTA, le nombre de clics sur chaque produit présenté et sur l’ajout au panier correspondant, les abandons de paniers, les conversions AdWords, les produits les plus vendus et le chiffre d’affaires correspondant, les inscriptions à la newsletter, la profondeur des déplacements dans une page et les statistiques sur les vidéos partagées, c’est capital pour un décideur marketing et justifie la création et la gestion de tags spéciaux. Le gestionnaire de tags de Google s’assure de cette gestion.

Votre tâche sera de créer des balises HTML personnalisées à partir des tags préétablis fournis, d’ajouter des balises spéciales GTM comme Universal Analytics, DoubleClick Floodlight Sales, Google Surveys Website Satisfaction, Conversion Linker, Google Optimize et DoubleClick Floodlight Counter. Ces tags seront choisis en fonction des informations que vous souhaitez récolter. Ceux cités ici par exemple permettent d’obtenir des données telles que Google Analytics, Remarketing AdWords, Suivi des conversions AdWords et Pixels Facebook. Lors d’une campagne publicitaire AdWords, vous serez à même de savoir quels sont précisément les produits qui convertissent les consommateurs.

Image par Free-Photos de https://pixabay.com

Vous souhaitez en apprendre plus ?

Rejoignez nos formations pour devenir un professionnel du SEO !

Nos formations
Vous souhaitez travailler avec cette équipe ? Nous sommes prêts !

Parlez-nous de votre projet