SEO.fr Agency > Definition – SEO terms > Definition of YMYL – Your Money Your Life

Definition of YMYL – Your Money Your Life

What is YMYL?

YMYL stands for Your Money, Your Life. In the world of SEO, we speak of YMYL pages. A page is considered YMYL when it offers content that has a direct impact on the user’s life. In Google’s own words, “Certain types of pages can potentially impact users’ happiness, health, financial stability or future security”.

What does a YMYL page offer?

Your Money, Your Life, that’s the meaning of Y.M.Y.L., an expression that Google popularized in August 2018 when it launched the so-called Medic major update to its algorithm. This expression was created to qualify the pages that accompany us on a daily basis by delivering useful information.

Google appreciates them and therefore rates them more generously. These include pages dealing with medical, financial, legal, security, economic, official, legal and insurance issues. Also included, and of particular note, are pages on e-commerce sites that include an online payment page. The American giant’s appreciation of this category of pages is intended to encourage people to create trustworthy sites delivering quality, controlled and reliable information.

When the conditions of quality and quantity are met, the search engine rewards them with a privileged and permanent position in the search results pages. Google’s Search Quality Raters are human beings who evaluate pages and rate them according to strict specifications. Pages wishing to claim YMYL status should therefore be beyond reproach.

A YMYL page is rewarded for helping visitors manage their personal lives.

What impact does YMYL have on SEO?

Search engines want to ensure that the data on YMYL pages is accurate and trustworthy, as it has a major impact on the lives of Internet users. As a result, these pages must meet higher standards of excellence than other websites.

This means that for the authors of YMYL pages to ensure their pages rank highly in search results, they must adhere to SEO best practices. This involves using relevant keywords, optimizing meta tags and developing strong links to the website.

YMYL page authors must also ensure that content is accurate, reliable and up-to-date. In addition, they must be honest about their level of knowledge of the subject and offer references and sources to back up their claims.

SEO training?
Sylvain is here for you

16 years of digital marketing expertise

The YMYL qualification of a page is based on Google’s EAT (Expertise, Authority and Trust).

The judgement of the American search engine is implacable. It is based on the following criteria: firstly, the expert nature of the page content; secondly, the authority of the content and its author(s); and thirdly, the trustworthiness of the site information shared by the page. What is meant by “expertise” is the level of knowledge considered high by the author of the content when that author has a certain reputation on the Web. What is meant by “authority” is the assurance of the content’s reliability imposed by the tone in which it is presented. What “trust” implies is the guarantee offered by the site with regard to its reliability, thanks to the information published about it.

In short, the YMYL page must demonstrate its merits. As soon as content considered sensitive by Google proves to be unfounded, biased or distorted on a page, the engine considers the latter to be fraudulent and implements the penalization procedure.

The best solution for a site that is not fraudulent but risks being misjudged by the EAT procedure is to provide verifiable information in an “About” page, to devote a page to revealing the authors involved in the content, to pay as much attention to spelling as to grammar, and to ensure consistency between the structure’s different web presences.

Would you like to work with our team?
We are ready to welcome you!

--> -->

Suite au coronavirus, nous sommes disponibles et organisés en télétravail, conformément aux directives du gouvernement.

 

Définition du YMYL – Your Money Your Life

Agence SEO.fr > Définition – Les termes du référencement > Définition du YMYL – Your Money Your Life

Qu’est-ce que le YMYL ?

YMYL veut dire Your Money, Your Life. Dans l’univers du SEO, on parle de pages YMYL. Une page est considérée comme telle lorsqu’elle propose un contenu qui a un impact direct sur la vie de l’internaute. Selon les propres termes de Google, « Certains types de pages peuvent impacter potentiellement le bonheur, la santé, la stabilité financière ou la sécurité futurs des utilisateurs ».

Une page YMYL est récompensée parce qu’elle aide ses visiteurs à gérer leur vie personnelle

Votre argent, Votre Vie, c’est la signification de Y.M.Y.L., une expression que Google a popularisée en août 2018 lors du lancement de la mise à jour majeure dite Medic de son algorithme. Cette expression a été créée pour qualifier les pages qui nous accompagnent au quotidien en livrant des informations utiles.

Google les apprécie et donc les note avec plus de générosité. Il s’agit notamment des pages qui traitent des questions médicales, financières, juridiques, sécuritaires, économiques, officielles, légales et assurantielles. Y sont compris également, notons-le particulièrement, les pages des sites e-commerce incluant une page de paiement en ligne. L’appréciation de cette catégorie de pages par le géant américain vise à encourager les gens à créer des sites de confiance délivrant des informations de qualité, contrôlées et fiables.

Quand les conditions de qualité et de quantité sont remplies, le moteur de recherche les récompense par un positionnement privilégié et pérenne dans les pages de résultats de recherche. Ce sont les Search Quality Raters de Google qui sont des être humains qui évaluent les pages et les notent suivant un cahier des charges strict. Les pages qui veulent prétendre au statut de YMYL ont donc intérêt à être irréprochables.

La qualification YMYL d’une page repose sur l’EAT (Expertise, Authority and Trust) de Google

Le jugement du moteur de recherche américain est implacable. Il se fonde sur des critères qui sont premièrement le caractère expert du contenu de la page, deuxièmement l’autorité dégagée par ce contenu et son ou ses auteurs et troisièmement, la confiance qu’offrent les informations sur le site partagées par la page. Ce qui est entendu par « expertise », c’est le niveau de savoir considéré comme élevé de l’auteur du contenu lorsque cet auteur a une certaine réputation sur le Web. Ce que « autorité » veut dire, c’est l’assurance sur la fiable du contenu qu’impose le ton apporté pour le présenter. Ce que « confiance » sous-entend, c’est la garantie offerte par le site en ce qui concerne sa fiabilité grâce aux renseignements lui concernant qui y sont publiés.

En bref, la page qui se veut YMYL doit démontrer ses mérites. Dès lors que des contenus considérés sensibles par Google s’avèrent infondés, tendancieux ou faussés sur une page, le moteur considère cette dernière comme frauduleuse et met en œuvre la procédure de pénalisation.

La parade pour un site non frauduleux mais qui risque d’être mal jugé par la procédure EAT consiste à fournir des informations vérifiables dans une page « A propos », à consacrer une page révélant les auteurs impliqués dans les contenus, à soigner l’orthographe tout autant que la grammaire et à veiller sur la cohérence entre les différentes présences de la structure sur le Web.

Image par Free-Photos de https://pixabay.com

Vous souhaitez en apprendre plus ?

Rejoignez nos formations pour devenir un professionnel du SEO !

Nos formations
Vous souhaitez travailler avec cette équipe ? Nous sommes prêts !

Parlez-nous de votre projet